Current Giveaways

* NONE AT THE MOMENT *

Friday, October 17, 2014

[REVIEW] Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

Illusions of Fate

Author: Kiersten White
Genre: YA Fantasy, Romance, Historical Fiction
Published: September 9th 2014 by HarperTeen
Purchase from: Amazon | The Book Depository

Dive into a world of enchantment and romance in this lush fantasy, which Stephanie Perkins, international bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss, called "an absolute delight—a magical, sparkling, dangerous world with witty repartee and a romance that will light your heart on fire." Fans of Libba Bray and Cassandra Clare will fall in love with this captivating stand-alone novel from Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of the Paranormalcy trilogy.

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets the gorgeous, enigmatic Finn, who introduces her to the secret world of Albion's nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn't—power, money, status . . . and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, and the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess them. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits, can stop him.


Rating:


My Thoughts

Illusions of Fate, while unique and refreshing, did not strike that much impact on me. I didn't hate it, but I wasn't too fond of it either. It was okay, I guess.

There's not much on character development because Jessamin was already strong-headed and stubborn to begin with. The change in her came only when she learned not to judge people based on their birth and heritage. But I liked her strength and her assertiveness to stand on her own and not depend on any man. I only wished there was more of Finn's background. I would have liked to know him more.



The world-building is good. The story is set in an imaginary world that is both intriguing and new. The fact that it is set in the olden times also added spice and magical quality to the story. Actually, that's my favorite aspect of this novel.

I found Illusions of Fate somewhat slow. I kept putting it off because I was looking for some action. The magic is also the useful and practical Molly Weasley kind. It's a bit dull and uninteresting. Not that I hate it, but I prefer my magic flamboyant and fun.

The story picked up towards the end because of the unexpected major twist. I was honestly surprised by the Lord Downpike revelation and what happened to Finn. I couldn't say it was predictable because I was actually expecting and bracing for the worst to happen. Good thing the ending took on a good turn.

All in all, Illusions of Fate may be a good read, but I don't think it's for me.

Julie



author image

Julie @ Books and Insomnia

Julie is a Filipina blogger who pretends she has insomnia so she can stay up late reading. When she's not buried in books, she can be found watching anime, drinking chocolate-flavored instant coffee, lurking on the internet, daydreaming and talking about herself in third person. She loves purple and anything sweet!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Leave some comment. I'd love to hear from you! ^_^
If you're a blogger, feel free to leave a link to your blog so I can pay you a visit!

Mugs, T-shirts, Iphone cases, Tote bags, Throw Pillows, etc. available at REDBUBBLE!

^